Learn More
Although the alpha-helical Y(X)4Lvarphi containing region of eIF4E-binding protein (4EBP) is the major binding region with eukaryotic initiation factor 4E (eIF4E), the roles of its N- and C-terminal regions in the binding are hardly known. To clarify the roles of these flexible regions in the interaction, the binding features of the sequentially N-, C-, or(More)
Parkin is the gene product identified as the major cause of autosomal recessive juvenile Parkinsonism (AR-JP). Parkin, a ubiquitin ligase E3, contains a unique ubiquitin-like domain in its N-terminus designated Uld which is assumed to be a interaction domain with the Rpn 10 subunit of 26S proteasome. To elucidate the structural and functional role of Uld in(More)
One of the priorities in Alzheimer research is to develop a compound that inhibits the filament formation of tau protein. Since the three- or four-repeat microtubule-binding domain (MBD) in tau protein plays an essential role in filament formation, the inhibitory behavior of cyanidin (Cy) and methylene blue (MB) with respect to heparin-induced filament(More)
Although the central α-helical Y(X)4LΦ motif (X, variable amino acid; Φ, hydrophobic amino acid) of the translational regulator 4E-BP [eIF (eukaryotic initiation factor) 4E-binding protein] is the core binding region for the mRNA cap-binding protein eIF4E, the functions of its N- and C-terminal flexible regions for interaction with eIF4E remain to be(More)
In order to make clear the structural role of the C-terminal amide group of endomorphin-2 (EM2, H-Tyr-Pro-Phe-Phe-NH2), an endogenous mu-receptor ligand, in the biological function, the solution conformations of endomorphin-2 and its C-terminal free acid (EM2OH, H-Tyr-Pro-Phe-Phe-OH), studied using two-dimensional 1H NMR measurements and molecular modeling(More)
The eukaryotic initiation factor 4E (eIF4E) serves as a master switch that controls mRNA translation through the promotive binding to eIF4G and the regulative binding with the endogenous inhibitor 4E-BP. Although the bindings of eIF4G and 4E-BP to eIF4E proceed through the common eIF4E recognition Y(X)(4)Lφ motif (X: variable, φ: hydrophobic) (first binding(More)
Four known (1-3, 8) and four new abietane diterpenes, 15-hydroxy-8alpha,14alpha,12alpha,13alpha-diepoxyabietan-18-oic acid (4), 7alpha,8alpha,13beta,14beta-diepoxyabietan-18-oic acid (5), 18-nor-abieta-8,11,13-triene-4alpha,7alpha,15-triol (6), and abieta-8,11,13-triene-7alpha,15,18-triol (7) were isolated from the CHCl3 extract of the cones of Larix(More)
To elucidate the structural features of amino acids caused by the C-terminal alpha-amidation, the crystal structures of HCl salts of C-terminal amidated Ile, Val, Thr, Ser, Met, Trp, Gln and Arg were analysed and compared with those of their C-terminal free acids. The bonding parameter of the amide group was little affected by the different chemical(More)
X-Ray crystal structures of four different fluorine-substituted phenylalanines (two mono- and two tri-substitutions) were analyzed to investigate the effect of fluorine atom on the association pattern of benzene rings. Although respective structures showed similar molecular packing in such a way that the layers of hydrophobic benzene rings and hydrophilic(More)
In order to elucidate the substrate specificity of alanyl-tRNA synthetase, 5'-O-[N-(L-alanyl)sulfamoyl]adenosine (Ala-SA), an analogue of alanyl-AMP, was chemically synthesized. Its binding ability is similar to that of the substrate based on the inhibitory activity for the aminoacylation of alanyl-tRNA synthetase. Taking advantage of the stable sulfamoyl(More)