Learn More
X. Wu, W. Fang, A. Yamilov, A. A. Chabanov, A. A. Asatryan, L. C. Botten, and H. Cao Department of Physics and Astronomy, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois 60208, USA Department of Physics, University of Missouri-Rolla, Rolla, Missouri 65409, USA Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Texas-San Antonio, San Antonio, Texas 78249, USA(More)
Snow on Antarctic sea ice plays a complex and highly variable role in air-sea-ice interaction processes and the Earth’s climate system. Using data collected mostly during the past 10 years, this paper reviews the following topics: snow thickness and snow type and their geographical and seasonal variations; snow grain size, density, and salinity; frequency(More)
We measured the ensemble-averaged spectral correlation functions and statistical distributions of spectral spacing and intensity for lasing modes in weakly scattering systems, and compared them to those of the amplified spontaneous-emission spikes. Their dramatic differences illustrate distinct physical mechanisms. Our numerical simulation revealed that(More)
This paper analyzes surface climate variability in the climate forecast system reanalysis (CFSR) recently completed at the National Centers for Environmental Prediction (NCEP). The CFSR represents a new generation of reanalysis effort with first guess from a coupled atmosphere–ocean–sea ice–land forecast system. This study focuses on the analysis of climate(More)
There has been evidence of warming rate varying largely over space and between seasons. However, little has been done to evaluate the spatial and temporal variability of air temperature in the Tarim Basin, northwest China. In this study, we collected daily air temperature from 19 meteorological stations for the period of 1960-2012, and analyzed annual mean(More)
Authors​: ​Stephen G. Penny (UMD, NOAA/NCEP), Santha Akella (NASA/GMAO), Mark Buehner (ECCC), Matthieu Chevallier (CNRM; WWRP/PPP), Francois Counillon (NERSC), Clara Draper (NASA/GMAO), Sergey Frolov (NRL), Yosuke Fujii (JMA/MRI), Alicia Karspeck (NCAR), Arun Kumar (NOAA/NCEP), Patrick Laloyaux (ECMWF), Jean-Francois Mahfouf (Meteo-France), Matthew Martin(More)
  • 1