Srilatha Kuntumalla

Learn More
Mass spectrometry (MS) based label-free protein quantitation has mainly focused on analysis of ion peak heights and peptide spectral counts. Most analyses of tandem mass spectrometry (MS/MS) data begin with an enzymatic digestion of a complex protein mixture to generate smaller peptides that can be separated and identified by an MS/MS instrument. Peptide(More)
The in vitro stationary phase proteome of the human pathogen Shigella dysenteriae serotype 1 (SD1) was quantitatively analyzed in Coomassie Blue G250 (CBB)-stained 2D gels. More than four hundred and fifty proteins, of which 271 were associated with distinct gel spots, were identified. In parallel, we employed 2D-LC-MS/MS followed by the label-free(More)
Shigella dysenteriae serotype 1 (SD1) causes the most severe form of epidemic bacillary dysentery. Quantitative proteome profiling of Shigella dysenteriae serotype 1 (SD1) in vitro (derived from LB cell cultures) and in vivo (derived from gnotobiotic piglets) was performed by 2D-LC-MS/MS and APEX, a label-free computationally modified spectral counting(More)
Yersinia pestis proteins were sequentially extracted from crude membranes with a high salt buffer (2.5 M NaBr), an alkaline solution (180 mM Na2CO3, pH 11.3) and membrane denaturants (8 M urea, 2 M thiourea and 1% amidosulfobetaine-14). Separation of proteins by 2D gel electrophoresis was followed by identification of more than 600 gene products by MS. Data(More)
John C Braisted (braisted@jcvi.org) Srilatha Kuntumalla (srilatha@jcvi.org) Christine Vogel (cvogel@mail.utexas.edu) Edward M Marcotte (marcotte@icmb.utexas.edu) Alan R Rodrigues (alan.r.rodrigues@gmail.com) Rong Wang (Rong.Wang@jcvi.org) Shih-Ting Huang (Shih-Ting.Huang@jcvi.org) Erik S Ferlanti (Erik.Ferlanti@jcvi.org) Alexander I Saeed(More)
Proteomic studies on Shigella dysenteriae, Shigella flexneri, enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli and uropathogenic E. coli (UPEC) are reviewed. UPEC causes infections in the urogenital tract, whereas the other species colonize and, to varying degrees, invade the intestinal tract. Type III secretion systems used to breach the mucosal barrier by the(More)
BACKGROUND Shiga toxin (Stx)-producing Escherichia coli cause severe intestinal infections involving colonization of epithelial Peyer's patches and formation of attachment/effacement (A/E) lesions. These lesions trigger leukocyte infiltration followed by inflammation and intestinal hemorrhage. Systems biology, which explores the crosstalk of Stx-producing(More)
  • 1