Sheryl A Hyland

Learn More
Lipid A constitutes the outer monolayer of the outer membrane of Gram-negative bacteria and is essential for bacterial growth. Synthetic antibacterials were identified that inhibit the second enzyme (a unique deacetylase) of lipid A biosynthesis. The inhibitors are chiral hydroxamic acids bearing certain hydrophobic aromatic moieties. They may bind to a(More)
The lpxC (envA) gene of Escherichia coli encodes UDP-3-O-acyl-GlcNAc deacetylase, the second and committed step of lipopolysaccharide biosynthesis. Although present in all gram-negative bacteria examined, the deacetylase from E. coli is the only example of this enzyme that has been expressed and purified. In order to examine other variants of this protein,(More)
A series of carbohydroxamido-oxazolidine inhibitors of UDP-3-O-[R-3-hydroxymyristoyl]-GlcNAc deacetylase, the enzyme responsible for the second step in lipid A biosynthesis, was identified. The most potent analog L-161,240 showed an IC50 = 30 nM in the DEACET assay and displayed an MIC of 1-3 microg/mL against wild-type E. coli.
We describe structure-activity studies leading to the discovery of 2-arylbenzoxazole 3, the first in a series to raise serum high-density lipoprotein cholesterol levels in transgenic mice. Replacement of the 4-piperidinyloxy moiety with piperazinyl provided a more synthetically tractable lead, which upon optimization resulted in compound 4, an excellent(More)
The envA gene of Escherichia coli has been shown previously to be essential for cell viability (Beall, B. and Lutkenhaus, J. (1987) J. Bacteriol. 169, 5408-5415), yet it encodes a protein of unknown function. Extracts of strains harboring the mutant envA1 allele display 3.5-18-fold reductions in UDP-3-O-acyl-N-acetylglucosamine deacetylase specific(More)
Cholesteryl ester transfer protein (CETP) is a serum component responsible for both cholesteryl ester and triglyceride trafficking between high-density lipoprotein (HDL) and the apolipoprotein B (apoB)-containing very low-density lipoprotein (VLDL) and low-density lipoprotein (LDL). Several fluorescence-based assays that monitor these transfers have been(More)
The bacterial proteins WecA and MraY are members of the polyprenyl phosphate:N-acetylhexosamine-1-phosphate transferase family, each of which catalyzes the transfer of a specific hexosamine 1-P from a soluble UDP-hexosamine substrate to a bactoprenyl phosphate carrier at the membrane surface. Currently, assays designed to quantitate the activity of these(More)
The development of 2-phenylbenzoxazoles as inhibitors of cholesteryl ester transfer protein (CETP) is described. Efforts focused on finding suitable replacements for the central piperidine with the aim of reducing hERG binding: a main liability of our benchmark benzoxazole (1a). Replacement of the piperidine with a cyclohexyl group successfully attenuated(More)
The development of a series of 2-arylbenzoxazole alpha-alkoxyamide and beta-alkoxyamine inhibitors of cholesteryl ester transfer protein (CETP) is described. Highly fluorinated alpha-alkoxyamides proved to be potent inhibitors of CETP in vitro, and the highly fluorinated 2-arylbenzoxazole beta-alkoxyamine 4 showed a desirable combination of in vitro potency(More)
The development of the structure-activity studies leading to the discovery of anacetrapib is described. These studies focused on varying the substitution of the oxazolidinone ring of the 5-aryloxazolidinone system. Specifically, it was found that substitution of the 4-position with a methyl group with the cis-stereochemistry relative to the 5-aryl group(More)