Sanne F. Mallant

Learn More
BACKGROUND Air pollution may promote type 2 diabetes by increasing adipose inflammation and insulin resistance. This study examined the relation between long-term exposure to traffic-related air pollution and type 2 diabetes prevalence among 50- to 75-year-old subjects living in Westfriesland, the Netherlands. METHODS Participants were recruited in a(More)
This study aimed to perform a quantitative and qualitative process evaluation of the introduction of the Choices logo, a front-of-pack nutrition logo on products with a favorable product composition, adopted by many food producers, retail and food service organizations, conditionally endorsed by the Dutch government, validated by scientists, and in the(More)
BACKGROUND Air pollution episodes are associated with increased cardiopulmonary hospital admissions. Cohort studies showed associations of spatial variation in traffic-related air pollution with respiratory and cardiovascular mortality. Much less is known in particular about associations with cardiovascular morbidity. We explored the relation between(More)
Marieke B.A. Dijkema (mdijkema@ggd.amsterdam.nl) Sanne F. Mallant (smallant@ggd.amsterdam.nl) Ulrike Gehring (u.gehring@uu.nl) Katja van den Hurk (katja.vandenhurk@vumc.nl) Marjan Alssema (m.alssema@vumc.nl) Rob T. van Strien (rvstrien@ggd.amsterdam.nl) Paul H. Fischer (paul.fischer@rivm.nl) Giel Nijpels (g.nijpels@vumc.nl) Coen D.A. Stehouwer(More)
  • 1