Richard B Ostler

Learn More
BACKGROUND Barrett's esophagus (BE) is a commonly undiagnosed condition that predisposes to esophageal adenocarcinoma. Routine endoscopic screening for BE is not recommended because of the burden this would impose on the health care system. The objective of this study was to determine whether a novel approach using a minimally invasive cell sampling device,(More)
Confocal fluorescence microscopy, using a newly constructed laser line-scanning confocal microscope, was applied to an investigation of the early stages of photoinduced destruction of V79-4 Chinese hamster fibroblasts using aluminum and zinc phthalocyanines as photosensitizers. Results obtained in this work show that aluminum and zinc phthalocyanines, once(More)
This report describes the development of a fluorescence microscope based on a standard inverted optical microscope which incorporates a pulsed picosecond dye laser excitation source and a detector consisting of a gated image intensifier coupled to a CCD camera. Fluorescence images have been obtained using gate durations of 0.5 ns from this apparatus,(More)
BACKGROUND Barrett's oesophagus predisposes to adenocarcinoma. However, most patients with Barrett's oesophagus will not progress and endoscopic surveillance is invasive, expensive, and fraught by issues of sampling bias and the subjective assessment of dysplasia. We investigated whether a non-endoscopic device, the Cytosponge, could be coupled with(More)
Base-catalyzed cross condensation of dipropylmaleonitrile 1 with bis(dimethylamino)maleonitrile 2 in an equimolar ratio afforded the porphyrazines 3a, 4a, 5a, 6a and 7a. Subsequent demetalation of 5a with TFA followed by remetalation with Zn(OAc)(2) gave ligand 5c in good yield. Compound 5c was, in turn, selectively oxidized and further peripherally(More)
Cohort study: Risk stratification of Barrett’s oesophagus using a non-endoscopic sampling method coupled with a biomarker panel Caryn S Ross-Innes*, PhD, Hamza Chettouh*, PhD, Achilleas Achilleos*, PhD, Nuria Galeano-Dalmau, MSc, Irene Debiram-Beecham, MSc, Shona MacRae, PhD, Petros Fessas, BA, Elaine Walker, BSc, Sibu Varghese, PhD Theodore Evan, MBBChir,(More)
  • 1