Rashim Salota

Learn More
BACKGROUND Chronic kidney disease is common in HIV positive patients and renal tubular dysfunction has been reported in those receiving combination antiretroviral therapy (cART). Tenofovir (TFV) in particular has been linked to severe renal tubular disease as well as proximal tubular dysfunction. Markedly elevated urinary concentrations of retinal-binding(More)
Background and Aims Serum zinc, copper and selenium are measured in patients prior to commencing on parenteral nutrition; however, their interpretation can be difficult due to acute phase reactions. We assessed (i) the relationship of raised C-reactive protein with trace elements and albumin (ii) benefits of measuring trace elements when C-reactive protein(More)
The case of a neonate is presented who had early onset seizure associated with hypocalcemia, hyperphosphatemia, and raised parathyroid hormone. The infant did not have any stigmata of pseudohypoparathyroidism. The hypocalcemia was initially resistant to calcium therapy, but responded to vitamin D analog therapy. The diagnosis of 'neonatal(More)
BACKGROUND & AIM Majority of the National Institute of Clinical Excellence (NICE) nutrition guidance recommendations were based on Grade D evidence due to absence of randomised controlled trials. The aim was to assess outcomes of parenteral nutrition (PN) administration when the guidance was adhered to. METHODS The prospective study included patients(More)
Graves’ orbitopathy (GO) is the main extrathyroidal manifestation of Graves’ disease. When fully expressed, it is characterized by inflammatory soft tissue changes, exophthalmos, ocular dysmotility causing diplopia, and, rarely, sight-threatening dysthyroid optic neuropathy (DON). The prevalence of GO among Graves’ patients seems lately declining, probably(More)
The most commonly used techniques to measure vitamin D are automated immunoassays which are known to be affected by interferences, especially from immunoglobulins present in the patient's serum. We present a case of a patient with myeloma in whom interference with the vitamin D assay was identified. An 83-year-old female, known to have IgG myeloma, was(More)
Lucy Campbell (lucy.campbell@kcl.ac.uk) Tracy Dew (tracydew@nhs.net) Rashim Salota (Rashim.salota@gstt.nhs.uk) Emily Cheserem (emily.cheserem@nhs.net) Lisa Hamzah (lisa.hamzah@kcl.ac.uk) Fowzia Ibrahim (fowzia.ibrahim@kcl.ac.uk) Pantelis Sarafidis (psarafidis11@yahoo.gr) Caje Monij (cajemonij@nhs.net) Bruce Hendry (bruce.hendry@kcl.ac.uk) Mary Poulton(More)
  • 1