Paola Di Carlo

Learn More
BACKGROUND It is well-known that Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) can affect the central nervous system (CNS). CASE PRESENTATION Herein the authors report unusual timely Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) brain scan findings in an immunocompetent patient with EBV encephalitis. Diffusion weighted MRI sequence performed during the acute phase of the disease was(More)
 Human cytomegalovirus (HCMV) strains, obtained from immunocompetent and immunocompromised Italian hosts, were typed with glycoprotein B (gB) gene restriction analysis. A predominant circulation of HCMV strains with gB type 2 and 3 was detected in both the immunocompetent host with a primary HCMV infection and the immunocompromised host with or without HCMV(More)
In Italy, about 7 % of the resident population is represented by immigrants originating from geographic regions at high endemicity for hepatitis B virus infection. This study aims to assess the prevalence of occult HBV infection (OBI) including the identification of HBV-genotypes in a population of immigrants serologically negative for hepatitis B surface(More)
BACKGROUND Studies of the apoptosis mechanisms involved in the pathogenesis of tuberculosis have suggested that Mycobacterium tuberculosis can actively interfere with the apoptosis of infected cells. In vivo studies have been performed in adult populations but have not focused on this process in children. In the present study, we analyzed spontaneous T(More)
AbstractAim:We describe a one-year investigation of colonization by imipenem-resistant, metallo-β-lactamase (MBL) producing Pseudomonas aeruginosa in a neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) of the University Hospital of Palermo, Italy.Methods:A prospective epidemiological investigation was conducted in the period 2003 January to 2004 January. Rectal swabs(More)
Background Progress in our understanding of the apoptosis mechanisms involved in the pathogenesis of tuberculosis suggests that Mycobacterium tuberculosis can actively interfere with the apoptosis of infected cells. In vivo studies have been performed in adult populations but have not focused on the process in children. In the present study, we analyze(More)
Paola Di Carlo (paola.dicarlo@unipa.it) Alessandra Casuccio (alessandra.casuccio@unipa.it) Amelia Romano (ameliaromano@libero.it) Daria Spicola (dariaspicola@yahoo.it) Lucina Titone (lucina.titone@unipa.it) Nadia Caccamo (nadia.caccamo@unipa.it) Francesco Dieli (francesco.dieli@unipa.it) Caterina Mammina (caterina.mammina@unipa.it) Elisabetta Pace(More)
  • 1