Palathurai Subramaniam Mohan

Learn More
Chemical investigation of the fruit pulp of Murraya koenigii resulted in the identification of two new dimeric carbazole alkaloids, bisgerayafoline D (1) and bismahanimbinol (2) along with four known alkaloids, bispyrayafoline (3), O-methyl mahanine (4), O-methyl mukonal (5), and mahanine (6). Structures of 1-6 were determined with the aid of UV, IR, Mass(More)
Phytochemical studies on the CHCl3 extract of the fruit pulp of Murraya koenigii afforded three new dimeric carbazole alkaloids, bisgerayafolines A-C (1-3). Bisgerayafolines A-C (1-3) are structurally unique dimeric carbazole alkaloids comprising geranyl moieties incorporated in their structures. Compounds 1-3 exhibited various levels of antioxidant,(More)
A series of 4-quinolone-3-carboxylic acid-containing spirooxindole-pyrrolidine derivatives was synthesized via multicomponent 1,3-dipolar cycloaddition reactions of azomethine ylides with new (E)-4-oxo-6-(3-phenyl-acryloyl)-1,4-dihydroquinoline-3-carboxylic acids in good yields with high regioselectivity. The cycloadducts were characterized by analytical(More)
An expedient route toward the synthesis of 4-hydroxyquinolone grafted spiropyrrolidines or pyrrolizidines has been accomplished through 1,3-dipolar cycloaddition reaction of various azomethine ylides derived from isatin or acenaphthalene and sarcosine with 4-hydroxyquinolone derivatives as dipolarophile. The regio and stereo chemical outcome of the(More)
Phytochemical investigation of the CHCl3 fraction of Swertia corymbosa resulted in the isolation of a new 3-allyl-2,8-dihydroxy-1,6-dimethoxy-9H-xanthen-9-one (1), along with four known xanthones, gentiacaulein (3), norswertianin (4), 1,3,6,8-tetrahydroxyxanthone (5), and 1,3-dihydroxyxanthone (6). Structure of compound 1 was elucidated with the aid of IR,(More)
A series of novel pyrimido and other fused quinoline derivatives like 4-methyl pyrimido [5,4-c]quinoline-2,5(1H,6H)-dione (4a), 4-methyl-2-thioxo-1,2-dihydropyrimido [5,4-c]quinoline-5(6H)-one (4b), 2-amino-4-methyl-1,2-dihydropyrimido [5,4-c]quinolin-5(6H)-one (4c), 3-methylisoxazolo [4,5-c]quinolin-4(5H)-one (4d), 3-methyl-1H-pyrazolo(More)
The study of the Vilsmeier-Haack reagent on 4-hydroxyquinaldines resulted in a new versatile intermediate 4-chloro-3-formyl-2-(2-hydroxy-ethene-1-yl)quinolines, which on further treatment with hydrazine hydrate yielded the desired diazepino quinoline derivatives. All the synthesized diazepino quinoline derivatives are screened for their antibacterial and(More)
A new class of pyrazolo[4,3-c]quinoline (5a-i, 7a-b) and pyrano[3,2-c]quinoline (9a-i) derivatives were designed and synthesized in moderate to good yields by microwave conditions. To enhance the yield of pyrano[3,2-c]quinoline derivatives, multicomponent one-pot synthesis has been developed. The synthesized compounds were identified by spectral and(More)
In the title compound, C(20)H(19)N(3)O(3), the inter-planar angle between the benzimidazole unit and the quinoline unit is 25.1 (2)°. Two different hydrogen bonds involving the hydr-oxy group and the imidazole unit are present. An intra-molecular N-H⋯O hydrogen bond links the hydr-oxy group of the side chain with the imidazole unit, forming a 12-membered(More)
Two independent mol-ecules of the title compound, C(17)H(12)ClN(3), are present in the structure. The angle between the planes defined by the atoms of the benzimidazole unit and the quinoline unit are 45.2 (3) and 44.0 (3)°, indicating an essentially identical conformation for both mol-ecules. Each of the independent mol-ecules is linked with a symmetry(More)