Massimo Francavilla

Learn More
Alterations in hormone secretion and cytokine levels have been evidenced in many neoplastic diseases. In this study we have evaluated the circadian profile of growth hormone (GH), insulin-like growth factor-1 (IGF-1), interleukin-2 (IL2), melatonin (MEL) and cortisol (COR) serum levels in non-small cell lung cancer patients. Blood was sampled every 4 h for(More)
Hunter syndrome (HS) is a lysosomal storage disease caused by iduronate-2-sulfatase (IDS) deficiency and loss of ability to break down and recycle the glycosaminoglycans, heparan and dermatan sulfate, leading to impairment of cellular processes and cell death. Cell activities and functioning of intracellular organelles are controlled by the clock genes(More)
Rhythmic oscillations of cellular biological processes are driven by translational-transcriptional feedback loops that realize molecular clocks ticking in every single cell, driven by neural and humoral outputs from the suprachiasmatic nuclei of the hypothalamus that are entrained by environmental photon inputs. The nuclear receptor REV-ERBα has the(More)
Carcinogenesis is related to the loss of homeostatic control of cellular processes regulated by transcriptional circuits and epigenetic mechanisms. Among these, the activities of peroxisome proliferator-activated receptors (PPARs) and DNA methyltransferases (DNMTs) are crucial and intertwined. PPARγ is a key regulator of cell fate, linking nutrient sensing(More)
Molecular clocks drive circadian rhythmicity of cellular functions in peripheral tissues and organs, kidney included, whereas in the testis this clockwork seems constitutively active. We have evaluated the periodicity and the dynamics of expression of the clock genes BMAL1, CLOCK, PER1, PER2, CRY1, CRY2 and REV ERBalpha over 24 h in the kidney and testis(More)
The rhythmic recurrence of biological processes is driven by the functioning of cellular circadian clocks, operated by a set of genes and proteins that generate self-sustaining transcriptional-translational feedback loops with a free-running period of about 24 h. In the gastrointestinal apparatus, the functioning of the biological clocks shows distinct(More)
Umbilical cord blood (UCB) contains hematopoietic stem cells and multipotent mesenchymal cells useful for treatment in malignant/nonmalignant hematologic-immunologic diseases and regenerative medicine. Transplantation outcome is correlated with cord blood volume (CBV), number of total nucleated cells (TNC), CD34+ progenitor cells and colony forming units in(More)
Gianluigi Mazzoccoli (g.mazzoccoli@operapadrepio.it) Rosella Tomanin (rosella.tomanin@unipd.it) Tommaso Mazza (t.mazza@operapadrepio.it) Francesca D'Avanzo (francesca.davanzo@studenti.unipd.it) Valerio Pazienza (v.pazienza@operapadrepio.it) Massimo Francavilla (m.francavilla@operapadrepio.it) Francesco Giuliani (f.giuliani@operapadrepio.it) Manlio(More)
In this work an objective radiographic image quality procedure is proposed. In particular the performance of different digital radiographic systems were assessed by highlighting the influence of both radiographic parameters and the use of automatic exposure control.
  • 1