Learn More
  • Wenjing Hong, David Zsolt Manrique, +5 authors Thomas Wandlowski
  • 2012
Employing a scanning tunneling microscopy based beak junction technique and mechanically controlled break junction experiments, we investigated tolane (diphenylacetylene)-type single molecular junctions having four different anchoring groups (SH, pyridyl (PY), NH(2), and CN) at a solid/liquid interface. The combination of current-distance and(More)
An initial photophysical study of a tetra-solketal-substituted zinc phthalocyanine is reported; at low temperature this compound exhibits very strong aggregation, and a new red shifted emission peak is observed, lambda max approximately 750 nm, attributed to a fluorescent phthalocyanine dimer.
The synthesis of trifluoromethyl-substituted pyridylboronic acids and pyrazolylboronic esters is described via lithiation-boronation protocols (Schemes 1, 3 and 4). A study of their palladium-catalysed cross-couplings with heteroaryl halides is presented. CF3-substituted aryl/heteroaryl-pyridines are thereby obtained (51-98% yields). Analogous(More)
WOLEDs offer new design opportunities in practical solid-state lighting and could play a significant role in reducing global energy consumption. Obtaining white light from organic LEDs is a considerable challenge. Alongside the development of new materials with improved color stability and balanced charge transport properties, major issues involve the(More)
Organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs) have their performance limited by the number of emissive singlet states created upon charge recombination (25%). Recently, a novel strategy has been proposed, based on thermally activated up-conversion of triplet to singlet states, yielding delayed fluorescence (TADF), which greatly enhances electroluminescence. The(More)
A general method for the synthesis of functionalized pyridazinylboronic acids/esters is described involving a directed ortho metalation (DoM)--boronation protocol (Schemes 1 and 2). A comprehensive study of the reactivity of the C-B bond in palladium-catalyzed cross-couplings with aryl/heteroaryl halides is presented. Aryl-/heteroarylpyridazines are thereby(More)
A quantum circuit rule for combining quantum interference effects in the conductive properties of oligo(phenyleneethynylene) (OPE)-type molecules possessing three aromatic rings was investigated both experimentally and theoretically. Molecules were of the type X-Y-X, where X represents pyridyl anchors with para (p), meta (m) or ortho (o) connectivities and(More)
There is much discussion of molecules as components for future electronic devices. However, the contacts, the local environment and the temperature can all affect their electrical properties. This sensitivity, particularly at the single-molecule level, may limit the use of molecules as active electrical components, and therefore it is important to design(More)
A family of new 2,5-diphenyl-1,3,4-oxadiazole (OXD) derivatives 8-11 bearing ortho-alkyl substituents on one of the phenyl rings is reported. The reactions of these OXDs with IrCl(3) under standard cyclometalating conditions did not give the usual μ-dichloro bridged diiridium OXD complexes. Instead, the novel diiridium complexes 12-14 and the monoiridium(More)
Electrical and mechanical properties of elongated gold-molecule-gold junctions formed by tolane-type molecules with different anchoring groups (pyridyl, thiol, amine, nitrile and dihydrobenzothiophene) were studied in current-sensing force spectroscopy experiments and density functional simulations. Correlations between forces, conductances and junction(More)