Martin Haimerl

Learn More
The technological progress within the last few years allows the construction of robots that could be part of our everyday live in near future. Besides human like appearance and communication they require natural patterns of behavior and motion to achieve wide acceptance. To analyze human motions we present different kinds of motion capturing systems and(More)
BACKGROUND Impingement can be a serious complication after total hip arthroplasty (THA), and is one of the major causes of postoperative pain, dislocation, aseptic loosening, and implant breakage. Minimally invasive THA and computer-navigated surgery were introduced several years ago. We have developed a novel, computer-assisted operation method for THA(More)
Periprosthetic or bony impingement in total hip arthroplasty (THA) has been correlated to dislocation, increased wear, reduced postoperative functionality with pain and/or decreased range of motion (ROM). We sought to study the accuracy and assess the reliability of measuring bony and periprosthetic impingement on a virtual bone model prior to the(More)
BACKGROUND There is a complex interaction among acetabular component position and antetorsion of the femoral stem in determining the maximum, impingement-free prosthetic range-of-motion (ROM) in total hip arthroplasty (THA). By insertion into the femoral canal, stems of any geometry follow the natural anterior bow of the proximal femur, creating a sagittal(More)
The use of computer navigation systems during total hip arthroplasty requires the femoral fixation of a reflective dynamic reference base (DRB), which theoretically involves the risk of bony fracture, infection, and pin loosening. The first objective of this study was to evaluate the relative movements between a novel, noninvasive external femoral DRB(More)
Tobias Renkawitz (t.renkawitz@asklepios.com) Martin Haimerl (martin.haimerl@brainlab.com) Lars Dohmen (lars.dohmen@brainlab.com) Sabine Gneiting (sabine.gneiting@brainlab.com) Phillipp Lechler (p.lechler@asklepios.com) Michael Woerner (m.woerner@asklepios.com) Robert Springorum (h.springorum@asklepios.com) Markus Weber (m.weber@asklepios.com) Patrick(More)
Zusammenfassung. Der vorliegende Beitrag zeigt, wie Verteilungen oszillierender elektrischer Ladungen bzw. die zeitliche Entwicklung einer Ladungsdichte zur Extraktion geometrischer Formen in MR-Aufnahmen eingesetzt werden k onnen. Die Evolution wird mathematisch durch eine Kontinuit atsgleichung beschrieben und numerisch auf implizite Weise  uber die(More)
A prospective clinical study of 50 patients was conducted to validate a new method of imageless computer navigated hip arthroplasty. The new method enables the surgeon to acquire all registration points with the patient positioned and draped in lateral decubitus position. The final component orientation was measured from post-operative CT scans. The mean(More)
Knowledge of consistent anatomical relationships is an important criterion for establishing registration procedures for orthopedic navigation systems. Based on an analysis of 420 CT data sets, we investigated whether a robust registration of the pelvis in a lateral decubitus position could be achieved based on anatomical relationships. For this purpose, we(More)
Zusammenfassung: In dem vorliegenden Beitrag werden Sicherheitskonzepte und -mechanismen vorgestellt, die im Rahmen des Projekts Q6 des SFB 414 für den Einsatz in medizinischen Informationssystemen entwickelt wurden. Aufbauend auf einer detaillierten Analyse der sicherheitstechnischen Anforderungen sind dabei Verfahren zur Absicherung von Patientendaten in(More)