Marco Atteritano

Learn More
OBJECTIVE The aim of our study was to elucidate the pathophysiology of systemic sclerosis-related osteoporosis and the prevalence of vertebral fragility fracture in postmenopausal women with systemic sclerosis (SSc). METHODOLOGY Fifty-four postmenopausal women with scleroderma and 54 postmenopausal controls matched for age, BMI, and smoking habits were(More)
Multiple factors may contribute to the pathogenesis of postmenopausal osteoporosis including environmental, life-style and genetic factors. Common variants in ESR2 gene encoding for ER-beta, highly expressed in bone tissue, have recently been proposed as candidates for affecting bone phenotype at the population level, particularly in postmenopausal women.(More)
The acute-phase response (APR) is a frequent occurrence after infusion of zoledronic acid and is caused by activation of γδ T cells. Vitamin D receptor is expressed in immune cells, and vitamin D has immunomodulatory properties. The aim of this prospective study was to test the effect of vitamin D (cholecalciferol) on the incidence of APR and intensity of(More)
INTRODUCTION Recent advances suggest that the cellular redox state may play a significant role in the progression of fibrosis in systemic sclerosis (SSc). Another, and as yet poorly accounted for, feature of SSc is its overlap with thyroid abnormalities. Previous reports demonstrate that hypothyroidism reduces oxidant stress. The aim of this study was(More)
The tumor necrosis factor-related cytokine receptor activator of nuclear factor kappa B ligand (RANKL) has been proposed as predictor of incident type 2 diabetes mellitus, and experimental blockade of RANKL resulted in a marked improvement of glucose tolerance. Denosumab is a fully human monoclonal antibody that binds to RANKL and prevents osteoclast(More)
Correction After publication of our recent article [1], we noticed that Figure 2A was incorrect as a result of mislabeling of the image files. The correct Figure 2 is given in full here as Figure 1. Figure 1 Immunostaining for α-SMA in cutaneous samples. Representative tissue sample from: (A) Sham animal; (B) HOCl mice; (C) HOCl + PTU animal (original(More)
Alessandra Bitto (abitto@unime.it) Natasha Irrera (nirrera@unime.it) Gabriele Pizzino (gabriele.pizzino@gmail.com) Donatella Sangari (dsangari@unime.it) Maurizio Cinquegrani (cinquegranimaurizio@gmail.com) William N Roberts (prob@aol.com) Marco Atteritano (matteritano@unime.it) Domenica Altavilla (daltavilla@unime.it) Francesco Squadrito(More)
  • 1