Liudmila Matskova

Learn More
Although the locations of promoters and enhancers have been identified in several cell types, we still have limited information on their connectivity. We developed HiCap, which combines a 4-cutter restriction enzyme Hi-C with sequence capture of promoter regions. Applying the method to mouse embryonic stem cells, we identified promoter-anchored interactions(More)
We have recently found that primary rat embryonic fibroblasts (REFs) could be immortalized by overexpression of the human mitochondrial ribosomal protein MRPS18-2 (S18-2). A derived cell line, designated 18IM, expressed the embryonic stem cell markers SSEA-1 and Sox2. Upon inoculation into severe combined immunodeficiency mice, 18IM cells differentiated to(More)
WW domains are protein modules that mediate protein-protein interactions through recognition of proline-rich peptide motifs and phosphorylated serine/threonine-proline sites. To pursue the functional properties of WW domains, we employed mass spectrometry to identify 148 proteins that associate with 10 human WW domains. Many of these proteins represent(More)
Deletion or mutation of the SAP gene is associated with the X-linked lymphoproliferative disease (XLP) that is characterized by extreme sensitivity to Epstein-Barr virus (EBV). Primary infection of the affected individuals leads to serious, sometimes fatal infectious mononucleosis (IM) and proneness to lymphoma. Our present results revealed a proapoptotic(More)
In about 50% of classical Hodgkin lymphomas, the Hodgkin/Reed Sternberg (H/RS) cells carry Epstein-Barr virus (EBV). The viral gene expression in these cells is restricted to EBNA-1, EBERs, LMP-1 and LMP-2 (type II latency). The origin of H/RS cells was defined as crippled germinal center B cells that escaped apoptosis. In spite of numerous attempts, only(More)
The involvement of proteoglycans (PGs) in EBV-host interactions and lymphomagenesis remains poorly investigated. In this study, expression of major proteoglycans (syndecan-1, glypican-1, perlecan, versican, brevican, aggrecan, NG2, serglycin, decorin, biglycan, lumican, CD44), heparan sulphate (HS) metabolic system (EXT1/2, NDST1/2, GLCE, HS2ST1, HS3ST1/2,(More)
Deletion or mutation of the SH2D1A gene located at Xq25 is responsible for the development of the X-linked lymphoproliferative disease, XLP. Primary infection of the affected individuals with EBV leads to fulminant and often fatal infectious mononucleosis, FIM. Moreover, they run a 200 fold elevated risk for lymphoma development. Due to the critical role of(More)
We identified the UBE2L6 gene, encoding the ISG15-conjugating enzyme UbcH8, as one gene significantly downregulated by promoter hypermethylation in nasopharyngeal carcinoma (NPC). Reduced expression of the UbcH8 protein correlated with poor outcome in NPC patients. Restored expression of UBE2L6 suppressed proliferation and colony formation in NPC cells,(More)
Epstein-Barr virus (EBV)-encoded latent membrane protein 2A (LMP2A) promotes the motility of nasopharyngeal carcinoma (NPC) cells. Previously, we have shown that the localization of integrin β4 (ITGβ4) is regulated by LMP2A, with ITGβ4 concentrated at the cellular protrusions in LMP2A-expressing NPC cells. In the present study, we aim to further investigate(More)
Expression of cofilin is directly associated with metastatic activity in many tumors. Here, we studied the role of Latent Membrane Protein 2 A (LMP2A) of Epstein-Barr Virus (EBV) in the accumulation of cofilin observed in nasopharyngeal cancer (NPC) tumor cells. We used LMP2A transformed NPC cell lines to analyze cofilin expression. We used mutation(More)