Kenneth N. Stevens

Learn More
  • Lawrence A Crum, Wallace Waterfall, Floyd A Firestone, Harvey Fletcher, Edward C Wente, Georg Von +44 others
  • 2013
2013 The Gold Medal is presented in the spring to a member of the Society, without age limitation, for contributions to acoustics. The first Gold Medal was presented in 1954 on the occasion of the Society's Twenty-Fifth Anniversary Celebration and biennially until 1981. It is now an annual award.
In this paper we describe the development of rules to drive a quasi-articulatory speech synthesizer, HLsyn. HLsyn has 13 parameters , which are mapped to the parameters of a formant synthesizer. Its small number of parameters combined with the computational simplicity of a formant synthesizer make it a good basis for a text-to-speech system. An overview of(More)