Jenny Hislop

Learn More
Objective methods are being used increasingly for the quantification of the amount of physical activity, intensity of physical activity and amount of sedentary behaviour in children. The accelerometer is currently the objective method of choice. In this review we address the advantages of objective measurement compared with more traditional subjective(More)
BACKGROUND The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence guidelines and the Quality Outcomes Framework require practitioners to use cardiovascular risk scores in assessments for the primary prevention of cardiovascular disease. AIM To explore GPs understanding and use of cardiovascular risk scores. DESIGN AND SETTING Qualitative study with(More)
BACKGROUND Children make up about 20% of the UK population and caring for them is an important part of a general practitioner's (GP's) workload. However, the UK Quality Outcomes Framework (pay-for-performance system) largely ignores children - less than 3% of the quality markers relate to them. As no previous research has investigated whether GPs would(More)
CONTEXT The aim of this study was to ask whether there are shared ideas about what good health care looks like that apply across different populations and conditions. Do priorities among "seldom heard" groups differ from mainstream views and, if so, how might we understand these differences? DESIGN Focus groups were recruited with the help of our study(More)
BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE Oral anticoagulants (OAC) substantially reduce risk of stroke in atrial fibrillation, but uptake is suboptimal. Electronic health records enable automated identification of people at risk but not receiving treatment. We investigated the effectiveness of a software tool (AURAS-AF [Automated Risk Assessment for Stroke in Atrial(More)
Tim A Holt (tim.holt@phc.ox.ac.uk) David Fitzmaurice (d.a.fitzmaurice@bham.ac.uk) Tom Marshall (t.p.marshall@bham.ac.uk) Matthew Fay (matthew.fay@bradford.nhs.uk) Nadeem Qureshi (nadeem.qureshi@nottingham.ac.uk) Andrew Dalton (andrew.dalton@phc.ox.ac.uk) Richard Hobbs (richard.hobbs@phc.ox.ac.uk) Daniel Lasserson (daniel.lasserson@phc.ox.ac.uk) Karen(More)
BACKGROUND Patients with atrial fibrillation (AF) are at significantly increased risk of stroke. Oral anticoagulants (OACs) substantially reduce this risk, with gains seen across the spectrum of baseline risk. Despite the benefit to patients, OAC prescribing remains suboptimal in the United Kingdom (UK). We will investigate whether an automated software(More)
  • 1