Jean-Paul Sculier

Learn More
PURPOSE A systematic review of the literature was carried out to determine the role of prophylactic cranial irradiation (PCI) in small cell lung cancer (SCLC). METHODS To be eligible, full published trials needed to deal with SCLC and to have randomly assigned patients to receive PCI or not. Trials quality was assessed by two scores (Chalmers and ELCWP).(More)
This paper describes an action framework for countries with low tuberculosis (TB) incidence (<100 TB cases per million population) that are striving for TB elimination. The framework sets out priority interventions required for these countries to progress first towards "pre-elimination" (<10 cases per million) and eventually the elimination of TB as a(More)
Lung cancer is the most frequently fatal cancer, with poor survival once the disease is advanced. Annual low dose computed tomography has shown a survival benefit in screening individuals at high risk for lung cancer. Based on the available evidence, the European Society of Radiology and the European Respiratory Society recommend lung cancer screening in(More)
Salvage chemotherapy (CT) for relapsing or refractory small cell lung cancer (SCLC) remains disappointing. In vitro experiments showed that valproic acid increases apoptosis of SCLC cell lines exposed to doxorubicin, vindesine and bis(2-chloroethyl)amine. The primary objective of this phase II study was to determine whether epigenetic modulation with(More)
INTRODUCTION Acute renal failure (ARF) has a poor prognosis in patients with cancer requiring intensive care unit (ICU) admission. Our aim is finding prognostic factors for hospital mortality in patients with cancer with ARF requiring renal replacement therapy (RRT). METHODS In this retrospective study, all patients with cancer with ARF treated with(More)
PURPOSE One among seven women will present with breast cancer for which major therapeutic advances led to a significant increase in survival and cure rates. During or after cancer treatment, severe complications may occur requiring admission in intensive care unit (ICU). Intensivists could be reluctant for accepting cancer patients in the ICU, and there are(More)
Anne-Pascal Meert[ap.meert@bordet.be] Marianne Paesmans [marianne.paesmans@bordet.be] Benoit Martin [benoit.martin@bordet.be] Celine Meascaux [celine.meascaux@bordet.be] Frederic Vallot [Frederic.Vallot@ulb.ac.be] Jean-Marc Verdebout [verdebout@bordet.be] Jean-Jacques Lafitte[jjlafitte@chru-lille.fr.be] Jean-paul Sculier [Sculier@bordet.be] Prophylactic(More)
  • 1