Janneke van Ekert

Learn More
Humans differ widely in their navigational abilities. Studies have shown that self-reports on navigational abilities are good predictors of performance on navigation tasks in real and virtual environments. The caudate nucleus and medial temporal lobe regions have been suggested to subserve different navigational strategies. The ability to use different(More)
Bram Jacobs (b.jacobs@umcg.nl) Janneke van Ekert (J.Vanekert@donders.ru.nl) Lotje P.L. Vernooy (Lotjevernooij@gmail.com) Peter Dieperink (P.Dieperink@anes.umcn.nl) Teuntje M.J.C. Andriessen (TMJC.Andriessen@neuro.umcn.nl) Marc P.H. Hendriks (M.Hendriks@psych.ru.nl) Arie B. van Vugt (A.Vanvugt@mst.nl) Marjolein A.A. Emons (M.Emons@rivas.nl) George F. Borm(More)
BACKGROUND Post-traumatic amnesia (PTA) is a key symptom of traumatic brain injury (TBI). Accurate assessment of PTA is imperative in guiding clinical decision making. Our aim was to develop and externally validate a short, examiner independent and practical PTA scale, by selecting the most discriminative items from existing scales and using a three-word(More)
The capacity to detect landmarks in the environment and to associate each landmark with its spatial context is a fundamental operation for navigation, especially when the context is relevant for successful navigation. Recent evidence suggests robust age-related improvements in contextual memory. The current study investigated the effect of spatial context(More)
Navigating through space is fundamental to human nature and requires the ability to retrieve relevant information from the remote past. With the passage of time, some memories become generic, capturing only a sense of familiarity. Yet, others maintain precision, even when acquired decades ago. Understanding the dynamics of memory consolidation is a major(More)
  • 1