Learn More
BACKGROUND Clinical trials yielded conflicting data about the benefit of adding systemic corticosteroids for treatment of community-acquired pneumonia. We assessed whether short-term corticosteroid treatment reduces time to clinical stability in patients admitted to hospital for community-acquired pneumonia. METHODS In this double-blind, multicentre,(More)
UNLABELLED We studied the influence of placenta growth factor (PlGF) on arteriogenesis and tested the role of bone marrow (BM)-derived cells on PlGF-depleted vascular growth. METHODS Right femoral artery was occluded in wild type (+/+), PlGF k.o. (-/-) and (-/-) mice receiving BM from (+/+) mice (-/- BM). Blood supply in paws was assessed by laser-Doppler(More)
BACKGROUND Community-acquired pneumonia (CAP) is the third-leading infectious cause of death worldwide. The standard treatment of CAP has not changed for the past fifty years and its mortality and morbidity remain high despite adequate antimicrobial treatment. Systemic corticosteroids have anti-inflammatory effects and are therefore discussed as adjunct(More)
Viral infection is a common complication after kidney transplantation. The role of natural killer cells (NK cells) in this setting remains unknown. NK cells express activating and inhibitory killer cell immunoglobulin-like receptors (KIR). We analyzed whether activating KIR genes carried by kidney transplant-recipients influence the rate of viral infection(More)
Digoxin was studied to see whether it impairs adrenal function and feminizes male subjects by changing plasma sexual hormones; both have been reported on previously. In eight healthy male subjects neither estrone (38.7 +/- 7.7 vs 35.4 +/- 3.2 pg/ml) nor estradiol (35.8 +/- 6.4 vs 32.2 +/- 3.9 pg/ml) nor testosterone (6.32 +/- 0.74 vs 6.45 +/- 0.73 ng/ml)(More)
Between January 1975 and December 1985 214 patients underwent prosthetic aortic valve replacement for isolated aortic regurgitation. Patient follow-up averaged 5.4 years after the operation (range 0.7-10.7 years). Preoperative staging showed 9 patients to be in NYHA stage II, 111 patients in stage III, and 94 patients in stage IV. At follow-up 3 patients(More)
Claudine A Blum (claudineblum@yahoo.com) Matthias Briel (matthias.briel@usb.ch) Isabelle Suter-Widmer (i.suter-widmer@hotmail.com) Nicole Nigro (nicole.nigro@usb.ch) Bettina Winzeler (bettina.winzeler@usb.ch) Roland Bingisser (roland.bingisser@usb.ch) Werner Zimmerli (werner.zimmerli@ksli.ch) Elke Ullmer (elke.ullmer@ksli.ch) Hanno Elsässer(More)