Gianluca Bagnato

Learn More
OBJECTIVE The aim of our study was to elucidate the pathophysiology of systemic sclerosis-related osteoporosis and the prevalence of vertebral fragility fracture in postmenopausal women with systemic sclerosis (SSc). METHODOLOGY Fifty-four postmenopausal women with scleroderma and 54 postmenopausal controls matched for age, BMI, and smoking habits were(More)
BACKGROUND Systemic sclerosis (SSc) is an autoimmune chronic disease characterized by diffuse fibrosis involving several organs, including heart. Aim of our study was to analyze left ventricular (LV) myocardial deformation, by use of 2D strain, in asymptomatic SSc patients with normal LV ejection fraction. METHODS We enrolled 29 SSc patients (28 female,(More)
INTRODUCTION Recent advances suggest that the cellular redox state may play a significant role in the progression of fibrosis in systemic sclerosis (SSc). Another, and as yet poorly accounted for, feature of SSc is its overlap with thyroid abnormalities. Previous reports demonstrate that hypothyroidism reduces oxidant stress. The aim of this study was(More)
BACKGROUND AND AIMS Suboptimal vitamin D status was recently acknowledged as an independent predictor of cardiovascular diseases and all-cause mortality in several clinical settings, and its serum levels are commonly reduced in Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA). Patients affected by RA present accelerated atherosclerosis and increased cardiovascular morbidity and(More)
BACKGROUND Systemic sclerosis (SSc) is a complex autoimmune disease characterized by vascular alterations and autoimmune activation leading to widespread organ fibrosis. At the early stage of disease when organ involvement and extent of disease are emerging, mast cells may have some role, as implied by both symptoms and histologic evidence. CASE(More)
Correction After publication of our recent article [1], we noticed that Figure 2A was incorrect as a result of mislabeling of the image files. The correct Figure 2 is given in full here as Figure 1. Figure 1 Immunostaining for α-SMA in cutaneous samples. Representative tissue sample from: (A) Sham animal; (B) HOCl mice; (C) HOCl + PTU animal (original(More)
Alessandra Bitto (abitto@unime.it) Natasha Irrera (nirrera@unime.it) Gabriele Pizzino (gabriele.pizzino@gmail.com) Donatella Sangari (dsangari@unime.it) Maurizio Cinquegrani (cinquegranimaurizio@gmail.com) William N Roberts (prob@aol.com) Marco Atteritano (matteritano@unime.it) Domenica Altavilla (daltavilla@unime.it) Francesco Squadrito(More)
  • 1