Geir Aasmund Hjorthaug

Learn More
Four methods for measuring volar angulation in 5th metacarpal neck fractures were tested for validity and reliability. Mid-medullary canal measurement in the lateral view (method MC-90) has previously been proven valid in a cadaveric study, hence used as a reference to test validity of the latter three. These three yielded a significant different mean(More)
Tendons and ligaments attach to bone through a transitional connective tissue with complex biomechanical properties. This unique tissue is not regenerated during healing, and surgical reattachment therefore often fails. The present study was designed to evaluate tendon healing in a bone tunnel and to evaluate the utilized rat model. Wistar rats (n = 61)(More)
INTRODUCTION Hip fractures are a leading cause of mortality and disability worldwide, and the number of hip fractures is expected to rise to over 6 million per year by 2050. The optimal approach for the surgical management of displaced femoral neck fractures remains unknown. Current evidence suggests the use of arthroplasty; however, there is lack of(More)
BACKGROUND The administration of nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) to patients undergoing anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction (ACLR) is controversial because it may impair tissue healing and clinical outcomes. PURPOSE To assess the effect of NSAID administration on patients undergoing ACLR. STUDY DESIGN Cohort study; Level of evidence,(More)
Leiv O Watne (l.o.watne@gmail.com) Anne C Torbergsen (a.c.torbergsen@medisin.uio.no) Simon Conroy (spc3@leicester.ac.uk) Knut Engedal (knut.engedal@aldringoghelse.no) Frede Frihagen (ffrihagen@gmail.com) Geir A Hjorthaug (geir.hjorthaug@me.com) Vibeke Juliebo (v.juliebo@gmail.com) Johan Raeder (johan.rader@medisin.uio.no) Ingvild Saltvedt(More)
BACKGROUND Delirium is a common complication in patients with hip fractures and is associated with an increased risk of subsequent dementia. The aim of this trial was to evaluate the effect of a pre- and postoperative orthogeriatric service on the prevention of delirium and longer-term cognitive decline. METHODS This was a single-center, prospective,(More)
  • 1