Federica Ferraro

Learn More
BACKGROUND Pandemic A/H1N1v influenza is characterized by a mild clinical course. However, a small subset of patients develops a rapidly progressive course caused by primary viral pneumonia or secondary bacterial infections that, in many cases, lead to death due to respiratory failure. The aim of the present study was to analyze the involvement of the(More)
The Authors carried out a study on MRSA colonization rate among health-care workers (HCW) in a large roman hospital. Samples were obtained from staff members at the beginning of each work shift. Two-hundred HCW were included (78 physicians and 122 nurses), mean age 36.6 +/- 10.9 years. We identified 38 (19.0%) S. aureus carriers, prevalently nurses (21.3%)(More)
INTRODUCTION A new Influenza A virus H1N1 appeared in March-April 2009, and thousands of cases are being reported worldwide. In the initial months, several imported cases were reported in many European countries, while some countries reported local chains of transmission. We describe the first cluster of in-country transmission of the new Influenza A H1N1(More)
BACKGROUND The first influenza pandemic of the 21th century was ignited by a new strain of influenza A virus (A/H1N1pdm). Specific patient groups, including those with comorbidities, pregnant women, young children, older and immunocompromised patients, are at increased risk for serious influenza-related disease. This study was aimed at investigating the(More)
Surgical site infection (SSI) frequency is influenced by several risk factors, among which perioperative hair removal. Traditionally it is part of the procedures carried out on skin before surgery. Although preoperative shaving is widely used in many hospitals, its use should be re-evaluated. Therefore the AA. carried out a systematic literature review(More)
Carbapenem-resistant Acinetobacter baumannii was isolated from 15 colonized or infected patients (carriers) between April and July 2004, in a teaching hospital ICU in Rome, Italy. All isolated strains were susceptible only to gentamicin, ampicillin-sulbactam and colistin and displayed the same Random Amplified Polymorphic DNA (RAPD) 1 pattern. Twelve out of(More)
BACKGROUND There is still wide variability in surgical antimicrobial prophylaxis (SAP) practice by different surgical teams and specialties, with potential impact on adverse events and the emergence of antibiotic resistance. METHODS We assessed SAP appropriateness in a regional prospective multicenter study on the basis of the agreement of the Surgical(More)
Silvia Meschi (silvia.meschi@inmi.it) Marina Selleri (marina.selleri@inmi.it) Eleonora Lalle (eleonora.lalle@inmi.it) Licia Bordi (licia.bordi@inmi.it) Maria B Valli (mariabeatrice.valli@inmi.it) Federica Ferraro (federica.ferraro@inmi.it) Giuseppe Ippolito (giuseppe.ippolito@inmi.it) Nicola Petrosillo (nicola.petrosillo@inmi.it) Francesco N Lauria(More)