Dina Becirovic

  • Citations Per Year
Learn More
BRCA1 plays an essential role in maintaining genome stability. Inherited BRCA1 germline mutation (BRCA1+) is a determined genetic predisposition leading to high risk of breast cancer. While BRCA1+ induces breast cancer by causing genome instability, most of the knowledge is known about somatic genome instability in breast cancer cells but not germline(More)
Genetic predisposition is the primary risk factor for familial breast cancer. For the majority of familial breast cancer, however, the genetic predispositions remain unknown. All newly identified predispositions occur rarely in disease population, and the unknown genetic predispositions are estimated to reach up to total thousands. Family unit is the basic(More)
Hongxiu Wen (wenhongxiu@gmail.com) Yeong C Kim (yeong.kim@unmc.edu) Carrie Snyder (csnyder@creighton.edu) Fengxia Xiao (fengxia.xiao@unmc.edu) Elizabeth A Fleissner (eafleissner@unmc.edu) Dina Becirovic (DinaBecirovic@creighton.edu) Jiangtao Luo (jiangtao.luo@unmc.edu) Bradley Downs (bradley.downs@unmc.edu) Simon Sherman (ssherm@unmc.edu) Kenneth H Cowan(More)
Partner and localizer of BRCA2 (PALB2), plays an important functional role in DNA damage repair. Recent studies indicate that germline mutations in PALB2 predispose individuals to a high risk of developing familial breast cancer. Therefore, comprehensive identification of PALB2 germline mutations is potentially important for understanding their roles in(More)
Ku80 is a subunit of the Ku heterodimer that binds to DNA double-strand break ends as part of the non-homologous end joining (NHEJ) pathway. Ku80 is also involved in homologous recombination (HR) via its interaction with BRCA1. Ku80 is encoded by the XRCC5 gene that contains a variable number tandem repeat (VNTR) insertion in its promoter region. Different(More)
  • 1