Baraa Zuhaili

Learn More
BACKGROUND Infected wounds present a major complication in patients with diabetes. Staphylococcus aureus is the most common single isolate in diabetic wounds. Human beta-defensin (hBD)-3 is antimicrobial active and appears to play a key role in the immune response. The present study aimed to analyse the effect of hBD-3 expression in a model of infected(More)
BACKGROUND Major loss of skin following burns or trauma requires skin grafting for repair. In addition, chronic wounds frequently require skin grafts. Current treatments are either cumbersome, limited in possible expansion ratio, costly, or require extensive time for treatment. This study investigates a new way of regenerating skin after major burns and(More)
PURPOSE We used in vivo cell expansion to create 3-dimensional subcutaneous conduits lined with an inner layer of autologous urothelial mucosa. MATERIALS AND METHODS Laparotomy and excision of a fifth of the bladder were done in 5 female Yorkshire pigs (Parsons Farm, Westhampton, Massachusetts) under general anesthesia. After mechanical removal of the(More)
OBJECTIVE The reconstruction of a defect involving complex cartilaginous structures such as the ear and nose is a difficult problem. Cartilage donor sites are limited, and the shaping of an ear or nose is dependent upon the surgeon's skills and experience. In this report, we propose to use resorbable plates that can be shaped to serve as a template for(More)
ABSTRACT Decreased inflammatory response seen in wet wound healing may be correlated with diminished scarring. This study seeks to test this hypothesis and to validate a model of scarring in the Yorkshire pig. Four Yorkshire pigs were used to create 36 dorsal wounds per pig (144 wounds total) in the following groups: full-thickness excisional, partial(More)
BACKGROUND Impaired wound healing is a frequent phenomenon in diabetes mellitus. However, little is known of the fundamental cause of this pathology. The present study examined the effect of human insulin-like growth factor (hIGF)-1 overexpression in combination with autologous cell transplantation to diabetic wounds in a preclinical large-animal model. (More)
BACKGROUND Wound infection is a common complication in diabetic patients. The progressive spread of infections and development of drug-resistant strains underline the need for further insights into bacterial behavior in the host in order to develop new therapeutic strategies. The aim of our study was to develop a large animal model suitable for monitoring(More)
BACKGROUND The role of the wet environment in wound healing has been investigated in various studies. The current study explores the role of the wet wound environment in promoting healing of skin grafts. The authors hypothesized that the survival of skin grafts is dependent not only on the orientation of transplantation but also on the environment into(More)
Tobias Hirsch (tobias.hirsch@rub.de) Malte Spielmann (malte-spielmann@web.de) Baraa Zuhaili (bzuhaili@partners.org) Till Koehler (till.koehler@gmx.de) Magdalena Fossum (mfossum@partners.org) Hans-Ulrich Steinau (hans-ulrich.steinau@rub.de) Feng Yao (fyao@rics.bwh.harvard.edu) Lars Steinstraesser (lars.steinstraesser@rub.de) Andrew B Onderdonk(More)
Visceral artery aneurysms (VAAs) are a rare entity. Within this subset of aneurysms, gastroduodenal artery (GDA) aneurysms represent an even more rare occurrence. We present a case report of treating GDA aneurysm on semi-elective basis followed by literature review of the clinical presentation and mainstream treatment modalities. GO is a 65-year-old male,(More)